Under the Dome

Crime Control as a launching pad?

How good of a launching pad is the Crime Control secretary?

As one of the newer jobs in the governor's Cabinet, the position has been held by only 10 people, but the roster is fairly impressive.

Although appointed positions are not as good resume-builders as elected posts on the Council of State, the list includes future state Supreme Court justices Burley Mitchell Jr. and J. Phil Carlton and state Treasurer Richard Moore.

Current Secretary Bryan Beatty is rumored to be under consideration for another post in Gov.-elect Beverly Perdue's administration, perhaps as secretary of Correction.

The post has also been popular among political insiders, such as Heman Clark, a fixture of Democratic politics who died last week, and Herbert Hyde, a once-and-future state legislator who ran unsuccessfully for attorney general and lieutenant governor.

After the jump, a list of all 10 secretaries.


N.C. Secretaries of Crime Control:

J. Phil Carlton, April 1977 to December 1978
Herbert L. Hyde, Jan. 1979 to August 1979
Burley B. Mitchell, August 1979 to January 1982
Heman R. Clark, Feb. 1982 to January 1985
Joseph W. Dean, January 1985 to May 1992
Alan V. Pugh, June 1992 to January 1993
Thurman B. Hampton, February 1993 to September 1995
Richard H. Moore, December 1995 to November 1999
David E. Kelly, November 1999 to January 2001
Bryan E. Beatty, January 2001 to current

SOURCE: N.C. Department of Crime Control and Public Safety

Cars View All
Find a Car
Jobs View All
Find a Job
Homes View All
Find a Home

Want to post a comment?

In order to join the conversation, you must be a member of Click here to register or to log in.