Under the Dome

Brandon remains the General Assembly's only openly gay member

Rep. Marcus Brandon remains the only openly gay member of the North Carolina General Assembly.

Brandon is an incumbent Democrat first elected from Guilford County in 2010. He faced no general election challenger this year. The state's two other openly gay candidates, also Democrats, fell short on Election Day. 

Deb Butler, a Senate candidate from New Hanover County, lost to incumbent Rep. Thom Goolsby by more than 11,000 votes. House candidate Susan Wilson of Buncombe County lost by fewer than 4,000 votes to Nathan Ramsey.

Cars View All
Find a Car
Jobs View All
Find a Job
Homes View All
Find a Home

Want to post a comment?

In order to join the conversation, you must be a member of Click here to register or to log in.