Under the Dome

Brock and Jackson to head Senate Ag committee

Sen. Andrew Brock of Mocksville and Sen. Brent Jackson of Autryville will be co-chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee, it was announced Friday by Senater leader Phil Berger of Eden.

The two will chair the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources and the Appropriations Subcommittee on Natural and Economic Resources when the legislature convenes next year.

Jackson currently holds the post, but Brock is taking the post of Sen. David Rouzer who unsuccessfully ran for Congress rather than seeking re-election.

“Agriculture is North Carolina’s biggest industry, contributing more than $70 billion annually to our state’s economy and employing approximately 17 percent of our work force,” said Berger. “Sen. Brock and Sen. Jackson will promote policies to protect this vital industry and preserve our state’s wonderful natural resources.”

Cars View All
Find a Car
Jobs View All
Find a Job
Homes View All
Find a Home

Want to post a comment?

In order to join the conversation, you must be a member of Click here to register or to log in.