What is the Order of the Long Leaf Pine?

One of the highest honors the governor can bestow on a North Carolina citizen.

One of the highest honors the governor can bestow on a North Carolina citizen.

Created in the mid 1960s, the award is given to residents in recognition of a proven record of service or some other special achievement. The recipient receives a certificate and the privilege of proposing, at any time, the North Carolina Toast:

Here's to the land of the long leaf pine,
The summer land where the sun doth shine,
Where the weak grow strong and the strong grow great,
Here's to "down home," the Old North State!

Past recipients include such famous Tar Heels as Maya Angelou, Billy Graham, Michael Jordan, Bob Timberlake and Rick Hendrick, along with longtime state employees, prominent business executives and noted politicians, athletes, musicians, actors and advocates.

"The certificate is most often presented when a person retires," notes an application form by Gov. Beverly Perdue's office. "A State Employee is awarded The Order of the Long Leaf Pine if he/she has 30+ years of service to North Carolina."

The governor also gives out The Old North State Award for North Carolinians with a record of service, a certificate of appreciation for long-serving state employees and volunteers, a Laurel Wreath Award for athletes and an Honorary Tar Heel award for non-residents.

A Raleigh retiree claims he was the first American to receive the award.

A nearly complete list of inductees from 1965 to 2006 has been compiled by a Raleigh real estate executive and is available at the N.C. Office of Archives and History.

As of 2009, more than 13,600 people had received the award, roughly half under the terms of Govs. Jim Hunt and Mike Easley.


Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Long Leaf Pine Award

The link to the application is dead, does anyone have a way to download one?



Re: What is the Order of the Long Leaf Pine?

I was presented this honor in 1992 and at the time had no idea why or who might have nominated me. Is there a way to find out who would have nominated an individual for this recognition.

Re: What is the Order of the Long Leaf Pine?

Is there a web site that lists all of the recipients of The Loyal Order of the Long Leaf Pine?

Cars View All
Find a Car
Jobs View All
Find a Job
Homes View All
Find a Home

Want to post a comment?

In order to join the conversation, you must be a member of Click here to register or to log in.